What's new

Character development and it's importance.

Metwally

Helper
SPOILER : This guide is meant strictly for people who don't understand character development, veteran RPers will find little use for it.

Hello everyone.
For those who don't know me, my name is Yusuf Metwally (Yes I had a character that had my name.) and I have been dabbling around with the concept of character development for quite a while now.
I have been doing RP for over 6 years now (And I'm not a pro before anyone mentions it, I'm average at best) and the only thing I have managed to do properly is create a defined role/mindset for my character and never break it even if it will lose me some RP.

So, let's begin.

I have divided this guide into two segments.
1st : What is character development?
2nd : Why is it so important?

I'll answer both of these questions together at the same time.
So, character development is basically the way your character evolves from where they start all the way up till they die/leave/etc. and the main reason people do it is because it limits their RP to something dense and relatable rather than having it being sporadic and, honestly, unrealistic.
For example, a legal character would never break the law unless there's a very valid reason (Such as saving someone)
However, there are definite exceptions to this, as you can start as a very idealistic character and end up becoming a serial killer. (See Scumpy's Seth Rodgers for a great example of that.)
And that's the magic of character development, it lets you basically choose your own path, yet it also allows everything you do to be realistic and understandable as long as you RP everything properly.